Georgia, like many other states, makes it illegal for drivers to operate their vehicle if they have a blood alcohol concentration percentage (BAC) above a certain amount. In Georgia, you could be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if you are 21 or older and your BAC is .08% or higher. If you’re under 21, it is .02%. If you’re operating a commercial vehicle, even if you are over the age of 21, if your BAC is .04% or higher you could receive a DUI.
Thousands Die Every Year From Drunk Drivers
Each year in Georgia, roughly 200,000 people receive a DUI. According to the Center for Disease Control, in the years 2003-2012 nearly 3,700 people were killed in crashes that involved a drunk driver. Of all traffic deaths in the United States, about one in three involve a drunk driver.
Drunk driving has become a serious problem in our society. Driving under the influence can harm your professional and your personal life, but even worse, it could cause you to injure or kill other drivers, your passengers, or even yourself. Each year, thousands of mothers, fathers, brothers, sisters, sons, and daughters lose their lives at the hands of a drunk driver.
Driving Drunk Could Cost You Big Money
The cost of a DUI is great and it is no coincidence that DUI’s are often referred to as “the $10,000 toast.” In Georgia, a first offense DUI results in a suspended license for up to a year, fines ranging from $300-$5,000, DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program completion, mandatory 40 hours of community service, possible incarceration for up to a year, as well as attorney’s fees and costs, some of which could be $25,000. DUI’s also create many intangible hardships, such as strain on families and friendships, job loss, or prevention of future employment in a variety of sectors. Many people assume that DUI’s can be easily expunged from their record, however, DUI convictions can stay on your driving record for ten years, creating an unintended legacy.
If you are injured by a drunk driver in Georgia, you are entitled to compensation for your medical bills and expenses, as well as pain and suffering. Under Georgia law, punitive damages and attorney’s fees are typically limited to $250,000. However, there are exceptions to this “cap” on damages, one of which is if you were hit by a driver who was under the influence. For clients who are injured by a drunk driver, this means that the statutory cap on damages in the state of Georgia does not apply. If you were injured in an automobile accident with a drunk driver, call our Marietta personal injury attorneys today to discuss your options, or fill out a contact form and a representative from our office will contact you shortly.
About the Author
The Champion Firm is a full-service personal injury law firm serving the greater Metro Atlanta area. Our award-winning team of attorneys specializes in car accidents, wrongful death, premises liability, and slip-and-fall cases. Learn more about our team here.