Who Could Be Liable for
a Rideshare Accident?
sustain in a rideshare crash.
What Types of Insurance
Coverage May Be Available
Rideshare accident claims get complex because compensation may be paid from several
different insurance sources. It depends on the driver’s status at the time of the crash and who
is to blame. Georgia law has specific insurance requirements for rideshare services such as Uber
and Lyft. See O.C.G.A. § 33-1-24.
The driver’s own personal insurance coverage will apply. In Georgia, the minimum bodily injury liability limits are $25,000 per person and $50,000 for multiple people in an accident. The driver must also carry $25,000 in property damage insurance.
If the rideshare driver’s personal insurance does not apply, then both Uber and Lyft provide liability coverage of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident for bodily injury, and up to $50,000 in property damage liability.
Both Uber and Lyft carry $1 million in third-party liability coverage per accident. They also provide uninsured motorist coverage for bodily injury. The limits of this coverage vary by state. In Georgia, rideshare services such as Uber and Lyft are required to provide $1,000,000 in uninsured motorist coverage per accident.
How a Rideshare Accident
Attorney May Help
A Georgia rideshare attorney can help victims seek
compensation for damages such as: